Goal Tending vs Basket Interference
QUESTION - Please clarify the difference between GOAL TENDING and BASKET INTERFERENCE.
ANSWER - It can be a little confusing because there are some similarities.
Both are VIOLATIONS. (reference Rule 9.11 and 9.12)
Both can be called against either the defense or the offense.
Both have similar penalties, although there are exceptions.
Here are the differences:
With GOAL TENDING, we are talking about a ball that is in flight as a result of a "SHOT ATTEMPT" and is OUTSIDE the cylinder of the goal.
In order for a GOAL TENDING violation to be called, it's all about TOUCHING THE BALL while THREE important factors ALL must be present:
1. The ball must be touched on its DOWNWARD FLIGHT
2. The ball must be touched ABOVE THE RIM
3. The ball must must be touched when it has a CHANCE TO ENTER THE GOAL
Note: Those are the basics. If ANY one of these factors is missing, there will be no violation
With BASKET INTERFERENCE, it is NOT restricted to a "shot attempt" and it involves situations where the ball is INSIDE the cylinder of the goal. How the ball gets to that cylinder above the basket makes no difference. It could be a "shot attempt" but it could also be a pass or a deflection.
In addition, it always involves touching something illegally. It might be the BALL..... OR, it also might involve the BASKET (or, "ring," hoop, goal, etc) as follows:
1. If the BALL is touched while it is anywhere IN THE CYLINDER that has the GOAL as its base, it is a VIOLATION.
2. If the GOAL is touched while the BALL is in contact with the TOP (not the sides...) of the GOAL, it is a VIOLATION. (Note: this most typically happens when a ball is rolling around the basket and it is uncertain if it's going to fall through the goal or not)
Those are the two basic possibilities.
Here are a few basic plays to illustrate the above. There are many other more complicated plays, but these are relatively straightforward.
QUESTION - A-1 shoots a jump shot along the 3 point arc. The ball is on its downward flight when defender B-5 jumps to block the shot. The ball is above the goal and it has a chance of entering the goal when B-5 contacts the ball. Ruling?
ANSWER - Defensive goal tending violation. All the basic requirements for goal tending are present. Even though the officials cannot be 100% certain the ball will enter the goal, the mere existence of a CHANCE that it could go in is enough to warrant the call. Award 2 points to Team A if the shot was taken inside the arc or 3 points if the shot was taken outside the arc.
QUESTION - A follow up tip by offensive player A-4 has left his hand and is on its way toward the backboard. Defender B-5 sees the ball rebound off the backboard and judges that it won't go in. He jumps to tap it away from the goal, contacting the ball while it is coming off to one side but still partially in the cylinder above the goal. Ruling?
ANSWER - Since the contact with the ball is made before the ball has completely cleared the cylinder that has the goal as its base, the call will be a basket interference violation by Team B. The ball is ruled dead immediately and a 2 point goal is awarded to Team A even if it is likely that the ball probably would not have entered the goal after the original tip by A-4. Team B is awarded the ball out of bounds on the endline at the spot nearest the violation and will be permitted to run the endline.
QUESTION - Team A's shot is rolling around the "ring" (goal, hoop, basket) trying to make up its mind whether to fall in or spin out. A-5 jumps up and swats at it, but misses and his hand then contacts the ring. Ruling?
ANSWER - Offensive basket interference. The "ring" was touched by the offense while the ball was "on or in" the cylinder that has the goal as its base. No goal can be scored. Team B ball out of bounds on the endline at the spot nearest the violation. (Note.....by rule, the net is considered part of the goal. But, it is extremely unlikely that basket interference will be called for contact with the net and only the net. If the call is made, it will be for contact with the basket)
QUESTION - Team A has the ball for a throw in from the sideline. Thrower A-2 lofts a long "alley oop" pass towards his team's goal. The ball hits the basket and bounces straight up over the goal when B-5 jumps and deflects the ball away. Ruling?
ANSWER - If the official deems that the ball was in the cylinder that has the goal as its base, the contact on the ball by B-5 is ruled basket interference by B-5 and Team A is awarded two points. It makes no difference that the ball is in the cylinder as a result of a pass from out of bounds.
QUESTION - Team A has a designed play wherein A-5 is supposed to catch an "alley oop" pass from teammate A-2 and "flush it" (dunk it). However, A-5 is a bit late and catches the ball while it is clearly within the cylinder that has the goal as its base. A-5 then "throws it down" with emphasis only to hear a whistle from one of the officials. Ruling?
ANSWER - Offensive basket interference by A-5 when he touches the ball within the cylinder having the goal as its base. The violation causes the ball to become "dead" immediately and no goal can be scored. Team B ball out of bounds at the spot nearest the violation. Note: this is not to be confused with a player who brings the ball to the goal and dunks it on his follow through. In that case, although the hand is in contact with the ball while the ball is in the cylinder, by rule it is legal. (Case Book play 9.11.2-B)